Hurricane Resources 2020

In the wake of this 2020 hurricane season, we compiled these resources that may be useful to you and your stakeholders. We are sharing with you some of the items shared with us. Some may prove useful for future storms.

Federal

CDC

CDC Hurricanes and COVID-19 – https://www.cdc.gov/disasters/hurricanes/covid-19/prepare-for-hurricane.html
CDC Going to a Public Disaster Shelter During the COVID-19 Pandemic – https://www.cdc.gov/disasters/hurricanes/covid-19/public-disaster-shelter-during-covid.html

FEMA

FEMA COVID-19 Pandemic Operational Guidance for the 2020 Hurricane Season – https://www.fema.gov/media-library-data/1589997234798-adb5ce5cb98a7a89e3e1800becf0eb65/2020_Hurricane_Pandemic_Plan.pdf
FEMA Hurricane Laura – https://www.fema.gov/disaster/4559
FEMA Hurricane Laura Individual Assistance FAQs: https://www.fema.gov/fact-sheet/hurricane-laura-individual-assistance-faqs
FEMA Hurricane Sally – https://www.fema.gov/disaster/4563
FEMA Region IV: Floodplain Management and Insurance Updates – https://www.fema.gov/about/organization/region-4
FEMA Volunteer and Donate Responsibly – https://www.fema.gov/disasters/volunteer-donate

NOAA Resources

ERMA Environmental Response Management Application – https://erma.noaa.gov/gulfofmexico/erma.html
Marine Debris Emergency Response Guide – https://marinedebris.noaa.gov/current-efforts/emergency-response
NCEI National Centers for Environmental Management Severe Weather Data – https://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/data-access/severe-weather

US Geology Survey

Emergency Operations Portal Hazards Data Distribution System (HDDS) – https://www.usgs.gov/core-science-systems/hdds/hazards-data-distribution-system-hdds
USGS Coastal Change Hazards Portal – https://marine.usgs.gov/coastalchangehazardsportal/
Special Topic Hurricane Laura – https://www.usgs.gov/special-topic/hurricane-laura
Special Topic Hurricane Sally – https://www.usgs.gov/special-topic/hurricane-sally

USA.GOV

Disaster Financial Assistance – https://www.usa.gov/disaster-financial-help

Homeowners Handbooks (Updated)

Alabama Homeowners Handbook to Prepare for Natural Disasters — (PDF, 7.88MG) Updated in 2020, the handbook provides actions that can be taken to help homeowners prepare for natural hazards to reduce risks to family and property in Alabama. https://gulfofmexicoalliance.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/AL_Homeowner_Handbook_2020.pdf

Florida Homeowners Handbook to Prepare for Natural Disasters – (PDF, 21.42MG) Updated in 2020, the handbook provides actions that can be taken to help homeowners prepare for natural hazards to reduce risks to family and property in Florida.

Louisiana Homeowners Handbook to Prepare for Natural Disasters – (PDF, 7.65MG) Updated in 2020, the handbook provides actions that can be taken to help homeowners prepare for natural hazards to reduce risks to family and property in Louisiana.

Mississippi Homeowners Handbook to Prepare for Natural Disasters – (PDF, 8,18MG) Updated in 2020, the handbook provides actions that can be taken to help homeowners prepare for natural hazards to reduce risks to family and property in Mississippi.

Texas Homeowners Handbook to Prepare for Coastal Natural Hazards – (PDF, 1,764MG) Reprinted in 2020, the handbook provides actions that can be taken to help homeowners prepare for natural hazards to reduce risks to family and property in Texas.

Hurricane Debris Resources

Marine debris emergency response guides for Alabama
Best Management Practices (BMPs) for removal of marine debris from wetlands and intertidal areas
Best Management Practices (BMPs) for ESF-10 vessel removal from Hurricane Michael
Modeling the distribution of relatively large, storm‐mobilized and deposited, anthropogenic marine debris objects across the nearshore seafloor so as to help prioritize these areas for survey.

Oyster Aquaculture Hurricane Resources

Storm and Hurricane Preparedness for Off-Bottom Oyster Aquaculture in the Gulf of Mexico
https://shellfish.ifas.ufl.edu/hurricane-resources/

States

Alabama

Alabama Emergency Management Agency – https://ema.alabama.gov/
Alabama Hurricane Sally Updates – https://governor.alabama.gov/hurricane-sally/
Baldwin County Emergency Management Agency – https://baldwincountyal.gov/departments/EMA
Mobile County Emergency Management Agency – https://www.mcema.net/

Florida

BeReady Escambia – https://myescambia.com/our-services/public-safety/beready
Florida Department of Emergency Management – https://www.floridadisaster.org/
Escambia County Storm Center – https://myescambia.com/stormcenter
Santa Rosa County Emergency Management – https://www.santarosa.fl.gov/666/Emergency-Management

Louisiana

Louisiana Emergency – http://emergency.louisiana.gov/
Louisiana Sea Grant Hurricane Resources – https://www.laseagrant.org/resources/hurricanes/
State of Louisiana Hurricane Laura Updates – https://hurricanelaura.la.gov/
State of Louisiana Governor’s Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness – http://gohsep.la.gov/

Mississippi

Mississippi Emergency Management Agency – https://www.msema.org/

Texas

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality Hurricane Preparedness – https://www.tceq.texas.gov/response/hurricanes
Texas Department of Insurance – https://www.tdi.texas.gov/consumer/storms/recoverytips.html
Texas Hurricane Center – https://gov.texas.gov/hurricane
Texas Sea Grant Hurricane Preparedness – https://texasseagrant.org/programs/hurricane-preparedness/index.html

Various Organizations

American Flood Coalition

A Dual Disaster Handbook: 6 Recommendations for Local Leaders Responding to Floods During COVID-19
Federal Flooding Opportunities for Flood Resilience: A Guide for Small Cities

American Red Cross

Hurricane Sally: Red Cross Helps as Clean Up Continues

Comeback Coolers Relief Efforts

Comeback Coolers

Federal Alliance for Safe Homes (FLASH)

Podcast Series Strong Homes, Safe Families

National Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster

NVOAD Information

Smart Home America

Learn about Fortified Construction