Meet Our Staff

Gulf of Mexico Alliance
1151 Robinson Street
Ocean Springs, MS 39564

Meet the Teams

Alliance Management Team

Florida (CHAIR)

Kevin Claridge 
Director of Florida Coastal Office
Florida Department of Environmental Protection
3900 Commonwealth Blvd.
Tallahassee, FL 32399
(850) 245-2101
Kevin.Claridge@dep.state.fl.us

Gareth Leonard
Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
Carr Building
3800 Commonwealth Blvd., MS 7A5
Tallahassee, FL  32399
Gareth.Leonard@myfwc.com

Alabama

Hank Burch
Assistant Director
Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
31115 Five Rivers Blvd.
Spanish Fort, AL 36527
(251) 621-1216
Hank.Burch@dcnr.alabama.gov

Patti McCurdy
Director of State Lands
Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
64 North Union Street
Montgomery, AL 36130
(334) 242-3484
Patti.Powell@dcnr.alabama.gov

Mississippi (CHAIR-ELECT)

Joe Spraggins
Executive Director
Mississippi Department of Marine Resources
1141 Bayview Avenue
Biloxi, MS 39564
(228) 374-5000
Joe.Spraggins@dmr.ms.gov

Gary Rikard
Executive Director
Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 2261
Jackson, MS 39225
(601) 961-5000
Gary_Rikard@deq.state.ms.us

Louisiana

Chip Kline
Louisiana Governor’s Office of Coastal Activities
Baton Rouge, LA 70804

Bren Haase
Louisiana Office of Coastal Protection and Restoration
Baton Rouge, LA 70804

Texas

Toby Baker
Commissioner
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 13087
Austin, TX 78711-3087
(512) 239-5515
Toby.Baker@tceq.texas.gov

Steve Schar
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 13087
Austin, TX 78711-3087

Priority Issues Teams

Coastal Resilience

Rhonda Price
Mississippi Department of Marine Resources
(228) 523-4150
rhonda.price@dmr.ms.gov

Kristen Kapiotis (PIT Coordinator)
Mississippi Department of Marine Resources
(228) 523-4025
Kristen.Kapiotis@dmr.ms.gov

Data & Monitoring

Stephanie Erickson (Co-Chair)
Florida Department of Environmental Protection
Stephanie.Erickson@dep.state.fl.us

Dave Reed (Co-Chair)
Florida Fish and Wildlife Commission
dave.reed@myFWC.com

Katherine Wallace (PIT Coordinator)
Florida Department of Environmental Protection
850-245-2099
Katherine.M.Wallace@floridadep.gov

Education & Engagement

Angela Underwood (Co-Chair)
Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
State Lands Division, Coastal Section, Weeks Bay Reserve
Angela.Underwood@dcnr.alabama.gov

Ilka Porter (Co-chair)
Mobile Baykeeper
iporter@mobilebaykeeper.org

Lee Yokel (PIT Coordinator)
Dauphin Island Sea Lab
(251) 861-2141 ext. 7507
lyokel@disl.org

Habitat Resources

James Pahl (Co-Chair)
State of Louisiana, Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority
(225) 342-2413
james.pahl@la.gov

Syed Khalil (Co-Chair)
State of Louisiana, Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority
Syed.Khalil@La.Gov

Lauren Durr (PIT Coordinator)
Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority
lauren.pourciau@la.gov

Water Resources

Kim Caviness
Water Quality Standards and Special Projects Branch
Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality
(601) 961-5390
kim_caviness@deq.state.ms.us

Jill Csekitz
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Jill.csekitz@tceq.texas.gov

TBA (PIT Coordinator)

Wildlife & Fisheries

Robin Riechers (Chair)
Texas Parks and Wildlife
Robin.Riechers@tpwd.texas.gov

Mike Smith (PIT Coordinator)
Harte Research Institute
Mikell.Smith@tamucc.edu

Cross-Team Initiatives

Conservation, Restoration & Resilience Planning

Rhonda Price (Team Facilitator)
Mississippi Department of Marine Resources
rhonda.price@dmr.ms.gov

Jim Pahl (Team Facilitator)
Louisiana Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority
james.pahl@la.gov

Ecosystem Services Assessment

Becky Allee, PhD (Team Facilitator)
Becky.Allee@noaa.gov

Marine Debris

Jennifer McGee (Chair)
Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
Jennifer McGee

Caitlin Wessel (Team Facilitator)
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Caitlin.Wessel@noaa.gov

Doug Jacobson (Team Facilitator)
Environmental Protection Agency
Jacobson.doug@epa.gov

Join the Alliance Listserv

Sign up for e-Newsletters from GOMA