The National Ocean Policy was established by the Obama Administration Executive Order 13547 on July 19, 2010, providing that Federal agencies will ensure the protection, maintenance, and restoration of the health of ocean, coastal, and Great Lakes ecosystems and resources; enhance the sustainability of ocean and coastal economies; preserve our maritime heritage; support sustainable uses and access; provide for adaptive management to enhance our understanding of and capacity to respond to climate change and ocean acidification; and coordinate with our national security and foreign policy interests.

The National Ocean Policy contains nine priority objectives

  • Ecosystem-Based Management
  • Informed Decisions and Improved Understanding
  • Observations, Mapping and Infrastructure
  • Coordinate and Support
  • Regional Ecosystem Protection and Restoration
  • Resiliency and Adaptation to Climate Change and Ocean Acidification
  • Water Quality and Sustainable Practices on Land
  • Changing Conditions in the Artic
  • Coastal and Marine Spatial Planning

Of the nine objectives, GOMA’s regional priorities are aligned with nearly all of them. The final National Ocean Policy Implementation Plan can be found here.